Council Districts


On October 31, 2017, the City received a letter from the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF). The letter asserted that the City’s at-large system for the election of city council members resulted in Latino vote dilution and prevented Latino voters from electing candidates of their choice in violation of the California Voting Rights Act (the CVRA) (Elec. Code §§ 14025-14032). The letter also threatened litigation unless the City voluntarily converted to a "by-district" election system. MALDEF served similar letters and subsequently filed lawsuits against cities for alleged CVRA violations. 

The City Council, on December 12, 2017, adopted Resolution of Intention No. 2017-223 (PDF) to initiate procedures for establishing and implementing by-district elections for City Council Members. On December 20, 2017, Council held the first of five required public hearings and adopted Resolution No. 2017-232 (PDF) approving line drawing criteria for establishing district boundaries. Subsequently, the Council held the remaining required public hearings, including a public workshop to assist citizens with map drawing and an additional public hearing.

On March 7, 2018, the Lodi City Council adopted Ordinance 1949 (PDF) establishing and implementing by-district elections and determining election sequencing. City Council Members are now elected on a by-district basis from five single-member Council districts by voters residing in the district in which the Council Member resides. It takes two election cycles to completely move to by-district elections -- the first was November 6, 2018 for Districts 1, 2, and 3, and the second election cycle will be November 2020 for Districts 4 and 5.

Council Members hold four-year terms. Elections for members of the Council are held in November of even-numbered years. There is no limit to how many terms a person may serve as a Lodi City Council Member. 


View Council District Map (PDF) or Interactive Council District Map

NOTE: Until their terms end in November 2020, Council Members Johnson and Mounce continue to serve as at-large City Council Members. Districts 4 and 5 will be elected in November 2020, thereby completing the transition to by-district elections.

Alan Nakanishi
Term November 2018 - 2022
District 1 Map (PDF)
DISTRICT 2Mark Chandler
Term November 2018 - 2022
District 2 Map (PDF)
DISTRICT 3Doug Kuehne
Term November 2018 - 2022
District 3 Map (PDF)
Term November 2020 - 2024
District 4 Map (PDF)
DISTRICT 5Mikey Hothi
Term November 2020 - 2024
District 5 Map (PDF)